Sun Temple Is Located At Which Place?

Konark Sun Temple
Governing body ASI
Location Konark
State Odisha


Where is Sun Temple located * 2 points?

Detailled Approach to the Problem. This is the right answer: Konark. The world-famous Sun Temple is located at Konark, close to the city of Puri in the Indian state of Odisha.

Where is Sun Temple and who built it?

It is located around 35 kilometers northeast of the city of Puri, on the state’s coastline, in the region of Odisha, India (earlier Orissa). Approximately 1250 CE, King Narasimhadeva I (r. 1238-1264 CE) of the Eastern Ganga dynasty commissioned the construction of the structure (8th century CE – 15th century CE).

Which temple is world famous in Orissa?

The so-called Sun Temple at Konark, a UNESCO World Heritage site that goes back to the 13th century, is arguably the most well-known of the many hundreds of temples in Orissa, and it is also the most visited. The edifice, which is located close off the shore of the Bay of Bengal, is notable for its design and construction: the sweeping complex is modeled after a chariot.

How many sun temples are in India?

In India, there are just two sun temples that have been constructed. One is located in Konark, Odisha, and the other is located in Modhera, Gujarat. This temple boasts beautiful architecture and a rich history that can be traced back to the time of the ancient Greeks.

You might be interested:  What Is The Use Of Artifacts In Temple Run 2? (TOP 5 Tips)

In which Indian state is the Sun Temple of Konark located?

The country of India is home to only two sun temples. One is in the Indian state of Odisha, while the other is in the Gujarati city of Modhera This temple boasts beautiful architecture and a rich history that can be traced back to the time of the Greeks and Romans.

Why is Sun Temple famous?

What is the significance of the Sun Temple? A: The Konark Sun Temple, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is renowned for its distinctive architecture. Its geometrical designs and carved wheels were employed as sun dials in the ancient world. At dawn, noon, and sunset, one may see three representations of the Sun God, each pointing in a different direction to capture the rays of the Sun.

Who built Khajuraho temple?

The Chandela dynasty constructed the majority of the temples in Khajuraho between 950 and 1050. According to historical sources, the Khajuraho temple complex contained 85 temples by the 12th century, which were distributed across a 20-square-kilometer area. Only roughly 25 temples have remained, and they are scattered out over a six-square-kilometer area.

What is the capital of Odisha?

Another widely held belief is that the temple was destroyed by Kalapahad (Kalapahad was the title given to a Muslim governor Sultan Sulaiman Karrani of Bengal), who invaded Orissa in 1508 and demolished the temple complex. Along with the Konark Sun Temple, he had demolished a slew of other Hindu temples in the state of Orissa.

Which is the famous sun temple in India?

The Konark Sun Temple in Odisha is the most prominent Sun temple in the country, and while there are some newer temples as well, the ancient temples have risen to a key place in the religious life of Hindus in India, particularly in the state of Gujarat. The Modhera Sun Temple, which is located in Gujarat, was constructed between 1026 and 1027 CE.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *